Mumford, I’ll have your sons……

24 Feb

One of the last times I saw Mumford and Sons live was the summer of 2008, it was the final gig of The River Rat Pack Tour – held in the tiny venue that is The Cellar in Oxford. They were absolutely electrifying and the gig ended with half of the crowd on stage with them, leaping around to the twangs of banjos and crashing of drums.

Since that summer Mumford have been on a whirlwind adventure, touring endlessly and most recently performing with Bob Dylan at the Grammys, winning their first Brit Award for Sigh No More, as well as their debut album reaching No.2 in Britain and the US.

So when I got tickets (which sold out in about 30 seconds may I add) for Tuesday nights Communion gig at Dingwalls I was both excited and intrigued; would they be the same after their meteoric rise to fame?

I need not have worried. Mumford and Sons gave the same intimate performance they used to all those years ago. Their success in the past few years seems to have had no effect on them and they seemed relieved to be back playing in their home town with Marcus after a “weird” two weeks, even saying “… this is by far and away the highlight”.

They gave us a preview of their new material, which was brilliant – even though half way through they admitted that most of the songs were unfinished – one song ‘Whispers in the Dark’ (I think – although they even seemed unsure as to names..!) particularly stuck in my mind. For an old fan who had not seen them live for over two years I can’t deny that the haunting sounds of The Cave, Timshel and as an encore, Little Lion Man weren’t the highlights of my night.

All I can say is roll on June 30th when I will be seeing them again. This time it’s in Hyde Park, supporting Arcade Fire and if last night was anything to go by,  I can’t wait! xx

Leave a comment